Barack Obama Names Huge Thief, Frank Ocean, Rosalía Amongst Songs of the 12 months


Former President Barack Obama released his "Songs of the Year" playlist for 2019. This year's edition includes titles from Big Thief, Frank Ocean, Rosalía, Solange, National, Beyoncé, Lizzo, DaBaby and more. Check out the entire playlist below.

Obama's playlist features some of the year's greatest pop hits (Lil Nas X and Billy Ray Cyrus & "Old Town Road" (Remix)), both international (Prateek Kuhads "cold / mess") and national ones (Big Thief & # 39; s "Not") and old school protest anthems (Mavis Staples & # 39; "Change"). Earlier this year, the Obamas shared a summer playlist with Frank Sinatra and Toots and the Maytals, as well as Lizzo and Rosalía. In June, they signed a contract with Spotify to "develop, produce, cast and vote for selected podcasts and to connect them with listeners around the world on wide-ranging issues."

Read Pitchfork's feature film "Defiant Requiems: The Halting Music of Obamas Dallas Speech" by Greil Marcus.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here